Waterstones 20% Student Lock In Book Haul! 📖

So last week my local Waterstones did a 20% Student Lock in event! Which I personally think was a great idea (and hope they do another this year). They announced it in January on their Facebook Page so I had been looking forward to this event for a few weeks already. So a few days before the event happened, I visited the store and made a note of all the books I wanted to buy. I’m pretty sure a lot of people did this, as I noticed a few carrying a list 😜 Of course, I knew that it may not be possible to get all of the books I wanted (which happened but thats okay.)

So altogether I had 6 books (I had one free as I had a voucher) so I bought 5 books and here is the list of them and the photo:

  • Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
  • The Gates of Rome (Emperor Series, Book 1) by Conn Iggulden
  • Tiny Pretty Things Hardcover by Charaipotra Clayton 
  • Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon
  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

16807341_10154434097609117_8890704977310491879_n

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and The Gates of Rome were both recommended to me by friends. Tiny Pretty Things was more of an impulse buy (the blurb looked good), Cloud Atlas and The Curious Incident I have heard really good things about and they are both quite famous books and Throne of Glass was bought purely because if you’ve read my previous blog posts you’d know how much I love Sarah J Maas.

When I first went into the bookshop a few days earlier The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger and Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard were also on my list of books to buy. Whilst I was at the event, I decided not to buy The Catcher in the Rye due to uncertainty if I would actually enjoy it and the Red Queen wasn’t there, which I was super disappointed about! It was in the shop too (as the girl on the till checked for me) but I’m pretty sure someone was wandering about with it because the event was super popular. I actually got there 15 minutes early and had to queue outside and when the doors opened at 7pm the queue was huge! I also noticed a lot more people coming into the shop whilst I was wandering around picking up books and reading the blurbs. Since the event, I’ve visited Waterstones to see if Red Queen was on the shelf but the person at the event bought it and they haven’t ordered in the book yet.

The book I am reading for this month is Ink and as I already have my books lined up till June, these won’t be read until after June. I also didn’t realise Cloud Atlas was a film so I may watch it before I read the book. Have any of you read any of these books? If you have then comment below and tell me what you thought! Also have any of you been to a Waterstones 20% Student Lock in event before?

6 thoughts on “Waterstones 20% Student Lock In Book Haul! 📖

  1. I’ve read Curious Incident and Throne of Glass and really enjoyed them both. As for the others you picked up, I’ve heard great things and I’ve been wanting to read a number of them. I’d love to hear what you thought when you’re done. I’ve actually read Red Queen but haven’t picked up any of the others book in the series. Hope you get your hands on it soon 🙂

    Like

      1. I liked the Throne of Glass series at the beginning but found myself slipping as the books went on. I do admire them for what they are though and really enjoyed the read when I was into them 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

