6 Countries in 1 Month: Belfast (Northern Ireland) Review ๐Ÿ€๐ŸŒ

So these blog posts will be in many parts. So welcome to my first “6 Countries in 1 Month” posts! I’m not sure how long it will take to get all of the reviews posted but I’ll be posting a review every Friday of the places I went.

So some background information… during May and June 2016, me and my best friend/boyfriend decided to save up and go for a month’s travelling around Europe. It was the perfect time to do it as we’d just finished our undergraduate degrees and apart from having to be back in time for the Brexit vote and graduation we had few summer plans. So we started booking this time last year (January 2016) and after planning it (around 4 or 5 times over the summer beforehand) we decided on a clear plan of where we would go. I booked Belfast first (October 2015, it was the first one we booked as I wanted to surprise my boyfriend for his 21st birthday) so I thought that it might interest you guys to know where we stayed, what we did and travelling on a budget in general!ย So as Belfast was the first place we went, then I thought it would be perfect to start with that for my review!

So here is a list of the countries/places we stayed in (in order.) The reviews will take place over a few months so keep checking my blog to see when I post the reviews:

๐ŸŒŸBelfast, Northern Ireland.

๐ŸŒŸDublin, Ireland. – Review will be posted 17/2/17

๐ŸŒŸAmsterdam, The Netherlands. – Review will be posted 24/2/17

๐ŸŒŸRome, Italy.ย – Review will be posted 3/3/17

๐ŸŒŸBarcelona, Spain.- Review will be posted 10/3/17

๐ŸŒŸFlorence, Italy.- Review will be posted 17/3/17

๐ŸŒŸBologna, Italy.- Review will be posted 24/3/17

๐ŸŒŸMilan, Italy. – Review will be posted 31/3/17

๐ŸŒŸBerlin, Germany. – Review will be posted 7/4/17

๐ŸŒŸFrankfurt, Germany. – Review will be posted 14/4/17

๐ŸŒŸCologne, Germany. – Review will be posted 21/4/17

So firstly… BELFAST

Hostel: We stayed in Paddy’s Palace which is really close to the Botanical Gardens andย Queens University, it was in a really nice location quiet and around a 20 minute walk from the main city centre. The hostel was okay, we had our own room, a free breakfast and free wifi. I personally felt that it wasn’t worth the money I paid as it was quite expensive compared to other hostels we stayed in. The hostel had a Common Room which I never went in as it was always so busy and apparently they had Laundry Facilities but as this was our first stop we didn’t need to do any clothes washing. The staff were friendly though and even helped us book a tour to the Giants Causeway and gave us a recommendation to visit a burrito place called “Boojum.” Here is a photo of me at Boojum! We stayed at this hostel for 2 nights and it came toย ยฃ80.00 altogether for a double ensuite room. I booked the hostel through hostelworld (which is where I booked the majority of our hostels throughout this trip.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Places we visited:ย 

So on our second day we got the Paddy Wagon tour which took us to:

  • Causeway Coast
  • Dark Hedges
  • Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge
  • Giants Causeway
  • Dunluce Castle for a photo stop

The Paddy Wagon tour was booked through out hostel and cost usย โ‚ฌ29/ยฃ25 but it was definitely worth it! The bus picked us up from Belfast at around 10am and then we got back to Belfast in the evening at around 5pm. We also stopped for lunch and the places we visited often had toilets and cafes too.

As before I mentioned our hostel was next to Queens University and the Botanical Gardens, so we visited both of them. We went for a coffee in Queens University Students Union the day we arrived as well as visiting the town centre and St George’s Market. After spending 2 nights in Belfast, we then got an aircoach to Dublin which took us 2 hours. Here is two photos of the Giants Causeway, I would definitely recommend going on this tour because it wasn’t too expensive and we got to see a lot of stuff in only a day!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If any of you would like more information regarding prices or what to see in Belfast then let me know in the comment section!

โญโญโญโญ4/5 stars.ย I would recommend to a friend and would go again but I’d also like to visit more places in Northern Ireland! I gave it 4 out of 5 stars as I feel that if I spent longer than 3 days there then I would pretty much see everything and also I do think the hostel was a bit overpriced.

3 thoughts on “6 Countries in 1 Month: Belfast (Northern Ireland) Review ๐Ÿ€๐ŸŒ

Leave a Reply

