12 books in 12 months challenge: Chosen books for January-May📚

So if you haven’t already read my past few blog posts, this year as one of my goals I have decided to do the 12 books in 12 months challenge, this will be my fourth seperate post on the topic, so if you didn’t already know then go check out my others posts. Each month, I choose a book to read and then I have that entire month to read it and afterwards I will do a book review (my first January book review was posted a few days ago). So I thought that I’d give you all a brief list of the chosen books for January, February, March, April and May. The other months, I just purely haven’t chosen a book yet for them so there will probably be another post in April regarding the other chosen ones.

January Book: A Court of Thorns and Roses by the author Sarah J. Maas.

77493_original

As I’ve already done two separate posts on this book, the first one regarding a brief overview of the chosen book and then a few days ago I proper review as I finished it last month. I’ve decided not to go into too much detail as you can read the book review I posted or even my older post when I just gave the blurb.

February Book: Ink by the author Alice Broadway.

32827036

This is the first book in a series called “The Skin Books.” I think the author is relatively new and this book was only published a few days ago! This book was chosen for me by my boyfriend, so I’m very excited to read this as it’s not something I chose myself. The blurb according to Goodreads says:

Every action, every deed, every significant moment is tattooed on your skin for ever. When Leora’s father dies, she is determined to see her father remembered forever. She knows he deserves to have all his tattoos removed and made into a Skin Book to stand as a record of his good life. But when she discovers that his ink has been edited and his book is incomplete, she wonders whether she ever knew him at all.

March Book: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

17927395

The second book in the series by Sarah J Maas. The first book in the series is the one I read in January, I’m looking forward to reading this book but I’ve heard that there is a lot of character development which I’m not entirely sure about! I’m also going to Sicily for a week in March, so I hope that I will have time to read it as I also have two exams for university! Here is the blurb according to Goodreads:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people. Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

April Book: The Light Between Oceans by the author  M.L. Stedman 

13158800

A book that I had for Christmas off my boyfriend’s mam so again, not one I have chosen myself but still looking forward to reading. I really love reading fantasy/romance books so this book seems like a change from my usual genre, I think she chose this book for me as for my undergraduate degree I studied Modern History and this book is based (I’m assuming) in the 1920s. The blurb according to goodreads says:

After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly half a day’s journey from the coast. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season and shore leaves are granted every other year at best, Tom brings a young, bold, and loving wife, Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby’s cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby.

So if you are doing this challenge with me then let me know how your book for January was and what chosen books you have for the upcoming months! 😊

May Book: The Tiger and the Wolf by Adrian Tchaikovsky 

26863058

I chose this book myself a few weeks ago so I hope its one that I’m going to enjoy as it’s the usual genre that I read. I don’t know much about the author and I think this book is the first in a series (it is the only book that I am aware of so far). The blurb according to Goodreads says:

In the bleak northern crown of the world, war is coming. Maniye’s father is the Wolf clan’s chieftain, but she’s an outcast. Her mother was queen of the Tiger and these tribes have been enemies for generations. Maniye also hides a deadly secret. All can shift into their clan’s animal form, but Maniye can take on tiger and wolf shapes. She can’t disown half her soul, so escapes – with the killer Broken Axe in pursuit. Maniye’s father plots to rule the north, and controlling his daughter is crucial to his schemes. However, other tribes also prepare for strife. It’s a season for omens as priests foresee danger, a time of testing and broken laws. Some say a great war is coming, overshadowing even Wolf ambitions. But what spark will set the world ablaze?

One thought on “12 books in 12 months challenge: Chosen books for January-May📚

Leave a Reply

