My Favourite Books Growing Up! Part I 📖

In a time where the internet was around but wasn’t so widely available, people had mobiles but they weren’t the small ones that we have now but the large (that looked like bricks and had no internet on them) and a time where I didn’t have to worry about work, money or university… I used to be a huge booklover.

Okay so I still am when I have the time I read and I just made myself sound super old but I am only 22! So for today’s blog post, I thought I’d do a small list of books that I used to love reading when I was younger, so book I read between the ages of 6-12.

Hopefully this list will make you remember your favourite books growing up or if you want any book ideas for buying for younger readers! So here is a list of ones that I remember were my favourite:

1.) My Secret Unicorn by Linda Chapman.

There were fifteen books in this series and I’ve read all of them. The books were published between 2002 and 2007. (When I was aged 8-12 years old).

The book is about a girl called Lauren who buys a pony called Twilight, who turns out to be a unicorn in disguise when she reads a magic spell.  The author also wrote a book series called Unicorn School which is unrelated to My Secret Unicorn but the main focus is about Unicorns still. I think I only read a few of Unicorn School as it was aimed at a more younger audience than the original series above.

2.) Stardust by Linda Chapman.

There was 8 books in this series and I think I read them all, though I’m not entirely sure. I’m also not sure on when these books were published but I know they were in the same time frame as My Secret Unicorn.

The book is about a girl called Lucy who finds out she is a stardust spirit when she befriends her new next door neighbour and future best friend Allegra. I remember really enjoying this book series and wishing that I was a stardust spirit too.

3. Rainbow Magic by Daisy Meadows (who actually is a group of authors)

RM21bks.jpg

Correct me if I am wrong but I think this book series is still being published today. The series started back in 2003 (when I was 9 years old) and currently has almost 200 books!

The books have been put into different series so I started reading books 1-7 which was “The Rainbow Fairies” and it was about Rachel and Kirsty, two girls who met on holiday and became instantly best friends after trying to help a fairy called Ruby. She tells them that they must help her find her sisters the other Rainbow Fairies as the villain Jack Frost had put a spell on Rainspell Island, the fairy kingdom. I also remember reading The Weather Fairies (books 8 to 14) and a special Christmas story about Holly the Christmas Fairy but I think ultimately due to the sheer number of books and the fact that I was outgrowing them I stopped reading.

4. The Fairy Dust series – Gwyneth Rees

There are 6 books in this series but I have only read 4 of them. Fairy Dust (published in 2003), Fairy Treasure (published in 2004), Fairy Dreams (published in 2005) and Fairy Gold (published in 2006).

Each stories are different but all have the main plot of a fairy in trouble. This book made me fall completely in love with fairies and when I stopped believing in them made me re-believe again. I didn’t read the last two books as I think they were published when I went to comprehensive school and therefore I outgrew them.

5. Jacqueline Wilson books

So I know that some of her books are for older readers but I remember starting to read them when I was about 10 years old. I think the first book I read by her was Vicky Angel (I think it was one of my sisters books) and the second book I remember reading and falling completely in love with was Dustbin Baby (again I think was my sisters book). Each book has a different storyline though you can get series such as the Tracy Beaker Series (I never read them but watched the CBBC show.) Unlike most authors writing for a younger audience Jacqueline wrote about things that people would have to overcome such as deaths, moving away and dealing with other issues, which I do admire her for.

Here are the books that I have read by this author. The dates are when they were published. As I was born in 1994, I wouldn’t have been reading any of these until 2004-2008. The books that I have put in bold, I remember buying this book and reading it a few weeks after they were published:

  • 1990 – Glubbslyme
  • 1996 – Bad Girls
  • 1997 – The Lottie Project
  • 1999 – The Illustrated Mum
  • 2000 – Vicky Angel
  • 2001 – The Cat Mummy
  • 2001 – Sleepovers
  • 2001 – Dustbin Baby
  • 2002 – Secrets
  • 2002 – The Worry Website
  • 2003 – Lola Rose
  • 2004 – Midnight
  • 2004 – Best Friends
  • 2004 – The Diamond Girls
  • 2005 – Love Lessons
  • 2006 – Candyfloss
  • 2007 – Kiss
  • 2008 – My Sister Jodie
  • 2008 – Cookie

 

If anyone wants me to do another post about books I read from the ages of 12-16 then let me know 😊

Leave a Reply

